Best of 2016 Playlist

September 26, 2015

Best of the Artist - Bring Me The Horizon

Part of our "Best of the Artist" series, in this installment we countdown our picks for Bring Me The Horizon's best songs. In all honestly we could have just done a top 10 for their album "Sempiternal" (maybe we will in the future), but we decided to diversify and rank songs from all of their albums. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, so we're sorry if this list doesn't pan out as you might have hoped. Feel free to leave comments, butthurt or otherwise. Go to our Top 10 page to see our honorable mentions. 

10. Chelsea Smile 
A fan favorite, and one of the only songs the band performs live from their 2nd album, "Suicide Season". It's a metalcore classic, with rock influences the band brought to other songs like "Home Sweet Hole" and "Antivist" on later albums. Try not to sing along to the chorus "I've got a secret, it's on the tip of my tongue/ on the back of my lungs. And I'm gonna keep it. I know something you don't know!" Metalcore at its roots is a combination of metal and hardcore punk. This track definitely stays true to those ideals, as it is a face paced hardcore attack that isn't brought down by Oli's deathcore vocals. Instead he swaps for something a bit more growling and gruff, the style he is known for today. 

9. Crucify Me
One of the best collaborations from the band, this is the opening track for the band's 3rd album. It is also the "title track" as the album's name is derived from the song's lyrics. Singer Lights is featured in the chorus, and the electronics are obviously done by her as well. The song opens "There is a Hell, Believe Me I've Seen It. There is a Heaven, Let's Keep It a Secret" (got that's a mouthful) with an airy feel. A heavily orchestrated piece, the influences and styles found here were brought over to their next album. It was the start of something incredible, and a great way to kick off their album. 

8. Alligator Blood
One of the singles from BMTH's 3rd album, it is another metalcore must have. While many of the songs from this album were fused with other genres of rock, "Alligator Blood" stays true to the band's metalcore roots. The "Chelsea Smile" of the album, it's impossible to not get hooked by the opening verse, or guitar riff. The song comes out of the gate, roaring with energy and ready for blood. Simply put, it's just a fun song to get rowdy to. The lyrics refer to a poker term, which, in short, describes someone who is fearless when confronted with a tough decision. "My alligator blood is starting to show. I know that you know that. And I know that you know! Can't call a bluff with a dead man's hand!

7. Happy Song
The first single from the band's 5th album, it threw us for a bit of a loop when it was released. Assuming the band would continue the electronic, alt. rock sound from "Drown", BMTH came back with this alt. metal track instead. Sure the opening is a bit off putting, cheerleaders chanting "SPIRIT, let's hear it!". But the rest of the song is BMTH at their finest. A soft vocal delivery from Sykes transitions into a harder chorus that soars. The atmospheric electronics coupled with the heavier guitars makes for one stand out track. "And I really wish you could help, but my head is like a carousel. And I'm going round in circles." is as good as it gets. 

6. Shadow Moses
The lead single from the band's 4th album, it paved the way for a number of other metalcore bands to explore this new sound. The opening is light, and almost weightless, before charging into the mind numbing guitar riff. A combination "Chelsea Smile" and "Crucify Me", the band proved that they were back with a vengeance that can still be found in their music and performances today. It is often used as the band's show opener. 

5. Can You Feel My Heart
The first song off "Sempiternal", and the first song to really showcase what Jordan is capable of as the master of the synths. The opener for the band's 4th album brought a new side of BMTH to fans. While still holding onto previous metal styles, they swapped out breakdowns for an addictive riff that puts other electronicore songs to shame. The take and give themes found the the lyrics, "I'm scared to get close, and I hate being alone. I long for the feeling to not feel at all. The higher I get, the lower I'll sink. I can't drown my demons they know how to swim," show just how capable Oli is. Writing lyrics that are catchy, and at the same time still hold the darker meanings he's known for. 

4. Drown 
Released as a single in 2014, then a rerecorded version featured on their 5th album, "Drown" was the band's breakthrough song. Receiving considerable mainstream radio play, it is the first true alt. rock song from the band. The lyrics are classic, "It comes in waves, I close my eyes. Hold my breath and let it bury me.I'm not okay, and it's not alright. Won't you drag the lake and bring me home again?" It transitioned the band away from the mosh pits of Warped Tour, and into the arenas of London. 

3. Go to Hell For Heaven's Sake
A raging post hardcore number that is seriously under appreciated. Oli belts out lyrics of frustration and angst to a strong guitar riff and drum beat. You'll be head banging in no time. This song is a mix of "Sleepwalking" and "Shadow Moses" (which is convenient seeing as the track-listing goes in that order). It combines the heavier aspects of "Shadow Moses" with the fresh take on metal that "Sleepwalking" has. 

2. Sleepwalking 
A must have for modern metalcore fans. BMTH layer on the electronics for this song, which pair nicely with the other instruments. Still a hard hitting number, it is the precursor to "Throne". A slightly edgier version of the band's latest hit, the song kicks off with an incredibly airy electronic riff. The weightless feeling continues into the verses and chorus flawlessly, and makes this a much more accessible hardcore track than others on the market. The lyrics don't need any explanation, they speak for themselves. 

1. Throne 
Perhaps the best song the band have released to date, it combines all the best aspects of the band. Oli's supreme lyrics, Jordan's electronics, and chorus so damn powerful and catchy it'll give you chills upon hearing it. Sticking to a deeper tuning (Drop A# to be exact) the band keeps the song on the heavy side, while the electronics give it a lighter edge. Oli's rougher vocals keep the song in a safe post hardcore meets electronic rock territory, where the band has found its new niche. If you aren't banging your head and belting out the chorus, then there's something wrong with you.